Awards for Fellows

by Becky Coombs

Ashok Venkitaraman has been appointed inaugural Jubilee Professor of the Indian Academy of Sciences. The Indian Academy of Sciences, founded in 1934 by the Nobel Prize-winning physicist Sir C.V. Raman, celebrated its platinum jubilee in 2009 and Council of the Academy has instituted the Jubilee Professorship in connection with this event.

Simon Learmount has been awarded the Pilkington Prize, which is for individuals who have pioneered new methods of learning, those whose work on outreach programmes has been simply outstanding, or those who have shown an incredible capacity to connect with, and inspire students to achieve.

For further information go to: