Rory Scott wins Dan Rookwood Award

by Sally March

Rory Scott (2011), captain of Pembroke men’s football team, has been awarded the 2014 Dan Rookwood Award. Will Gayne (2013) came second, while Anna Robinson (2010) came third.

This year Rory has captained the 1st XI to both promotion to Division 1 and the final of Cuppers. Throughout his three years at Pembroke, Rory has played first team rugby alongside football and has won “Best Player of the Season” in both sports.

Will Gayne revived the squash club after being here only a few weeks. He also plays other sports including badminton and football.

Bedouins player Anna Robinson has been committed to the women’s hockey club during her four years at Pembroke and captained the team last season. She has actively encouraged freshers to join the club and play for the team, which helped the team win promotion to Division 1 this season.

The Dan Rookwood Award is presented to a student who makes a significant contribution to the sporting life of the College. They do not need to have competed at the highest level, but their commitment and enthusiasm to one or more sports shines through. The winner winner is voted for by the College’s sports captains.

The award was donated by Dan Rookwood (1996), US Editor of MR PORTER and columnist for the Evening Standard and GQ Australia, in 2000. Like Rory, Dan captained the men’s football team.

The winner and runners-up all receive a cheque, kindly donated by Winston Ginsberg (1986).

Dan Rookwood Award 2014 Pembroke College Cambridge Sport

Will Gayne, Rory Scott, Anna Robinson